top of page

The joy of running with friends.

When I started running, years ago, it was invariably by myself. If I wasn't alone then it was with a small child in a buggy. It wasn't intentional. Clubs never met at a time that suited me people I asked didn't usually want to for varying reasons.


Eventually someone did decide to run with me (and it's because of them I now do what I do) and I experienced the joy of running with friends! It revolutionised running and how I felt about it.


If you haven't yet found someone to run with you don't know what your missing! A running friend is like no other you will ever have. You will talk about things you never thought you might talk about (pre-run bowel movements anyone?! It you think you wont, think again!!), you'll share laughs, you'll share tears and even the most polite among you will share some huge profanities (they're not swears-they're workout words)! And what's more, you'll find nothing strange or embarrassing in that.


Don't get me wrong, I still need those runs by myself. Those runs untangle the thoughts that have been building up inside. They let me run to be free. They give me peace- literal and metaphorical. It's also a great time to catch up on an audio book, podcast or music if that's you're jam.


But those runs with friends are therapy for everyone. Those friends will support you and help you see things from a different perspective (or call you on your shit - and I don't mean the pre-run one here!). Those runs keep you accountable too. If you're training for an event, if you're trying to increase or taper those miles, and importantly if you're returning from an injury, a good running buddy will make sure you're not doing too much because they'll want to keep running with you!


If you haven't found someone to run with yet, why not ask someone? Perhaps they're just waiting for be asked. If you have a great running buddy, why not give them a mention below and tell them what you love about your runs together...


44 views0 comments
bottom of page