top of page

Stress fracture? Broken bone? Here's how to recover effectively...

Updated: Mar 11, 2020

In November 2019, I ran the Cornwall Marathon. At mile 7 I felt an ache in my leg, but rather than pull out (after all, I worked hard to be there and the further I ran, the less I had to walk right?!) I slowed down and carried on. I finished the race but for the next few days my ankle and foot swelled and the pain that had intensified post race showed no signs of disipating.


After a telephone consultation with the GP I made a trip to the local Minor Injury Unit where I was x-rayed and discovered it wasn't a muscle sprain like I thought, but a full on fractured fibula. Cue 4 days in plaster, 6 weeks in an air-cast boot and a further 6 weeks after that of full running ban and one very frustrated runner...


Those 12 weeks gave me plenty of time to research and carefully plan my return to strength. Here's what I learned.


Recovery Starts Before You Return.

Eating the right food while you're immobilised will help to slow down the rate at which you lose strength and muscle mass.


According to Stacey Sims, PhD, injuries and surgery can cause hormonal and inflammatory stress that triggers rapid muscle loss. You can minimise the rate at which muscle mass is lost by manipulating your diet. It's all about the protein you eat. The amount is important, but even more important is the type.


It must be easily absorbed and contain the right amino acids to stimulate muscle growth. Good injury recovery foods include lean meat, low fat Greek yoghurt, nut butter and BCAAs (Branch Chain Amino Acids - muscle building blocks) found in green tea.




Start Slowly.

Much much slower than you think you need to. A couch to 5K program is a great place to start, but not only that, but you need to bring your speed right down (for example, if you were running an 8:30 minute mile, you need to be looking to start back at around 15-16 minute mile).


At this stage in the game it is not about increasing your strength or aerobic fitness. You need to ready your musculoskeletal system for the impact you'll be putting it through again.


If you're likely to go off too hard and too fast, now is a really good time to find a buddy to run with. Ask them to help keep you in check!


Take a Break (no pun intended!)

I discovered a really fascinating piece of advice, given to me by a physiotherapist. Alongside physio and/or strength exercised to aid recovery, it states running should be in a cycle of 2 weeks on and 1 week off, for 3 to 6 weeks.


We all know the good stuff happens on rest days, but the specificity here is that it allows the broken bone to remodel. Vital in the healing process.


If you can't face doing nothing for a week after such a break, take the opportunity to work in some all important cross training - get the bike out or go for a swim.


Listen to your body.

You know your body better than anybody else. Be sure to listen carefully to it. If you're coming back from a full on break, you're likely to experience some discomfort to begin with.


If you experience pain, it's imperative you dial back to where you feel comfortable. After all, do you really want to be out of action for another 6 weeks or more?!


To recap;

When you first find yourself immobilised, don't use it as an excuse to ditch any good eating habits you have. Eat well and heal faster.

Take it slow - don't go off too hard and fast when you go back.

Run 2 weeks off, 1 week off. Cross train if you need to keep active.

And most importantly of all, listen to your body and only take it as quickly as is comfortable.


If you'd like help with a rehab program, drop me a message and we'll see how I can help. In the mean time, here's a few pictures of my injury for you to enjoy!



*Please be aware that purchasing through the link may earn me a commission, however the book recommendation is 100% genuine and unpaid - I wish I'd bought it years ago!




8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page